In little more than a decade, medical marijuana has become the norm in the US despite ongoing federal cannabis prohibition. Thirty-seven states plus the District of Columbia now allow the use of weed for medical purposes.

No two state medical marijuana programs are alike though – the specifics of medical pot legislation can vary substantially from state to state.

In this guide, we’ll take you through these differences, with a focus on possession limits, restrictions on consumption methods, if any, and medical marijuana grow laws.

State Legislation Passed Possession Limits Consumption Method Restrictions Medical Marijuana Grow Laws
Alabama 2021 Up to 70 daily dosages (50 mg THC per dose) every 90 days Cannabis flower and infused edibles are prohibited. Medical marijuana must be in the form of “tablets, capsules, tinctures, or gel cubes for oral use; gels, oils or creams for topical use, or suppositories, transdermal patches, nebulizers, or liquids or oils for use in an inhaler.” Prohibited
Alaska 1998 1 ounce None 3 mature, 3 seedlings
Arizona 2010 2.5 ounces every 14 days None 12 plants, only if residence is more than 25 miles from a state-licensed dispensary
Arkansas 2016 2.5 ounces every 14 days Smokable cannabis prohibited for patients under the age of 21. Cannabis-infused edibles must not contain more than 10 mg THC. Prohibited


1996 8 ounces None Permitted, but local ordinances may restrict or prohibit home cultivation.


2000 2 ounces None 3 mature, 3 seedlings


2012 3.5 ounces every 30 days None 6 plants, maximum of 12 per household


2011 6 ounces None Prohibited
District of Columbia


2010 2 ounces None Prohibited


2016 2.5 ounces every 35 days. 4 ounces with special physician recommendation. Smokable cannabis permitted if a physician recommends “that the benefits of smoking marijuana for medical use outweigh the risks for the qualified patient.” Prohibited


2000 4 ounces None 7 plants


2013 2.5 ounces every 14 days None 5 plants


2016 1 month supply, dose yet to be determined Only non-smokable forms of cannabis Prohibited
Maine 1999 2.5 ounces None 6 plants


2014 30 day supply as determined by a physician Cannabis-infused edibles are prohibited. Prohibited


2012 10 ounces every 60 days None 6 plants, maximum of 12 per household


2008 2.5 ounces None 12 plants


2014 2.5 ounces every 14 days None Prohibited


2022 3.5 grams per day, 6 days a week, at a maximum of 3 ounces per month. Flower capped at 30 percent THC. Concentrates capped at 60 percent THC. Prohibited


2018 4 ounces every 30 days None 6 plants


2004 1 ounce None 4 mature, 4 seedlings. 8 mature, 8 seedlings maximum per household


2000 2.5 ounces None 12 plants, only if residence is more than 25 miles from a dispensary or if growing a strain that’s not available at a dispensary within this range.
New Hampshire


2013 2 ounces every 10 days None Prohibited
New Jersey


2010 3 ounces None Prohibited
New Mexico


2007 6 ounces None 4 mature, 12 seedlings
New York


2014 3 ounces None 6 plants
North Dakota


2016 3 ounces every 14 days Patients must have special certification from a physician in order to smoke cannabis. Marijuana-infused edibles are not permitted. Prohibited


2016 90-day supply.
Tier 1: 8 ounces
Tier 2: 5 & 3/10 ounces
None Prohibited


2018 3 ounces None 6 mature, 6 seedlings


1998 24 ounces None 6 mature, 18 seedlings


2016 90-day supply, as determined by a physician Vaporizers for cannabis flower are allowed, but smoking is prohibited. Prohibited
Rhode Island


2006 2.5 ounces None 12 mature, 12 seedling. 24 mature, 24 seedlings maximum per household. 48 mature, 48 seedlings maximum at a non-residential property
South Dakota


2020 3 ounces None 3 plants


2018 113 grams None Prohibited


2004 2 ounces None 2 mature, 7 seedlings


2020 4 ounces every 30 days None 4 plants


1998 8 ounces None 6 plants
West Virginia


2017 30-day supply, as determined by a physician Vaporizers for cannabis flower are allowed, but smoking is prohibited. Prohibited


In addition to this, the following states permit access to low-THC medical CBD products:

Previous articleBubba Kush Strain Review
Next article7 Reasons Why Legalization of Cannabis Is a Good Thing
Ben Walker writes for Stoner Things, covering the cannabis culture from a unique perspective. He doesn't just offer insights into the world of weed, but also provides hands-on reviews and tutorials for the latest products. With a decade of experience spanning cultivation and market trends, Ben advocates for informed and responsible cannabis use. His work goes beyond navigating the ever-changing cannabis landscape; it's about education and community development done right, coming from a place of knowledge and respect. If you want to stay up-to-date with cannabis trends and learn from an experienced guide, Ben's work is an invaluable resource.


  1. I live in Washington State.
    As I understand Washington’s marijuana laws, the State was an early adopter of legalizing first medical marijuana, and then recreational marijuana.
    I was going to apply for a medical marijuana card, but my doctor advised me not to.
    His reasoning: Washington State does not sell medical (clinical) grade marijuana.
    A doctor may prescribe medical marijuana – but the product is no different from buying recreational marijuana.
    So, the only reason a person needs a medical marijuana license in Washington is to allow them the right to grow 6 marijuana plants – is this correct ?
    What a waste of money.
    And where does the license fee go ?


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here