Eminem’s new album, The Marshall Mathers LP 2, was officially released on November 4th. And whether you love him or hate him, Eminem has made a good album. We don’t take music lightly here at Stoner Things, so we guarantee the following review will be honest and informational.

The AlbumThe_Marshall_Mathers_LP_2

The Marshall Mathers LP 2 is both a literal and spiritual successor to one of Eminem’s most iconic works, The Marshall Mathers LP. Eminem explained he was looking for something that had the same “vibe” and “nostalgia” as the first LP, and was approaching production from that angle.

When Shady first announced the album’s title there were many questions; could the new work really follow in the shoes of Rolling Stone’s 244 album on the list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time?”

The answer is yes.

Our Review

This is old Shady through and through. Eminem went back to his roots here and raps with the same fire he has in The Slim Shady LP, The Marshall Mathers LP and The Eminem Show. This is Eminem at his best, pulling out some of the fastest (97 words in 15 seconds!) and wittiest rhymes he’s ever delivered. But that also means this is Em at his angriest and most aggressive- his flow is amazing but every other track at least has plenty of misogyny and homophobia.

Guest artists include Skylar Grey, Rihanna, Kendrick Lamar and Nate Reuss (frontman of fun.). Like other tracks where Eminem has had collaborators, the featured singers don’t eclipse Em but neither are they sidelined; each appearance highlights the talents of both involved, making for some truly amazing and energetic tracks. Dr. Dre was unsurprisingly one of the album’s executive producers, as he and Eminem continue to grow together musically.

So overall, it’s a 4/5. The beats are amazing and the lyrics will blow your mind, but with 2014 almost here it’s past the time to be talking about beating women and gay men. Though Shady draps about the topics in a tongue-in-cheek, self-aware way that implies it’s purely to offend and not because he actually thinks that way, he’s shown us over the years he’s capable of so much more. Were it not for that, this would be a solid 5/5.

Track Listing

1. “Bad Guy”

2.  “Parking Lot” (skit)

3. “Rhyme or Reason”

4. “So Much Better”

5. “Survival”

6. “Legacy”

7. “Asshole” ft. Skylar Grey

8. “Berzerk”

9. “Rap God”

10. “Brainless”

11. “Stronger Than I Was”

12. “The Monster” ft. Rihanna

13. “So Far…”

14. “Love Game” ft. Kendrick Lamar

15. “Headlights” ft. Nate Ruess

16. “Evil Twin”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here